Marijuana Sold Commercially in Colorado Shops
At 8am on New Year’s Day, Doobie patronizers gathered up under a light snow just for the grand opening of Denver’s several retail pot shops. Do not get me wrong. We all know that possessing and using recreational Marijuana is already legal for a full year in Washington and Colorado before the New Year of 2014. But what makes this article news-worthy is that on January 1, the drug was officially and legally sold commercially to non-medical customers.
A couple of shops in Denver have already operated, legally selling marijuana for recreational use to adults. In fact, businesses claimed that they had garnered a whopping $1 million worth of sales on the first day alone. This is a big number considering that there are only a few dozen stores offering the bargain. Residents of Colorado and non-Colorado residents can now buy Marijuana like alcohol and tobacco, except that their purchase of cannabis is only limited to an ounce (for Colorado residents) and a quarter (for non-Colorado residents). However, it is important to note that an ounce already costs $200 on average.
Men and women who are 21 years old and above can now legally buy the third most popular recreational drug in America after Alcohol and Tobacco. This can be considered as a history marker because Colorado is the first state among the other states in America to legalize the selling of marijuana commercially. However, one should not confuse recreational marijuana from medical marijuana. To clear this before it becomes a stir, the government made it crystal clear to people that medical marijuana will be sold differently with recreational marijuana. Purchasing medicinal marijuana will still require you to hand a physician’s recommendation to dispensaries. On the flip side, recreational marijuana will be taxed with 25% state tax with an additional 2.9% usual state sales tax. This makes marijuana one of the things that are highly taxed in the state.
SOME FAQs ABOUT USING MARIJUANA IN COLORADO
Q: Can I smoke weed in public?
A: No. You cannot smoke in public. You cannot smoke in pot shops too. The only place where you are allowed to smoke weed is in private areas where the owners allow weed smoking.
Q: Can I grow my own weed instead of buying?
A: Yes, you are allowed to grow your own weed but you can only have six plants in your home. Furthermore, the patch should be enclosed and locked.
Q: Can I share the weed to my friends?
A: Absolutely. For as long as there is no money involved in your sharing.
Q: Can I be charged with DUI for Marijuana?
A: Any motorists in Colorado can be charged with DUI if his or her blood has more than 5 nanograms of THC. THC is the active constituent of Marijuana.
THE CONCERN OF CRITICS
The concern of critics is whether the new policy will attract teens to use the plant or not. Arguments of patronizers, on the other hand, say that marijuana is less dangerous than alcohol or tobacco.
At present, shops in Colorado are still allowed to sell the specified amount of weeds to Colorado and non-Colorado residents. News about the ending of the implementation seems to be a little bit blurry at the moment because the residents of Colorado were the ones who voted for the law to be legalized. In fact, 55% of voters said yes to legalizing Marijuana.
image courtesy of http://www.cannabisnews.org/